Around the world in 20 years

When I tell people that I have never lived in a place for more than three years, they’re usually shocked. I tell them the same thing every time when they ask me what it was like. 

“It was annoying have to start over each time, but it made for great memories and greater friends.”

And it’s true. But I don’t think I’ve ever had that one friend who I’ve known forever and had these amazing childhood memories with, because I never stuck around long enough. Sure I have best friends from all over the world, but none that I can say I’ve known since day one. 

That being said, I’ve met people from all over the world. America, Canada, Australia, Ireland, Britain, France, Germany, Holland, Italy, Sicily, Philippines, Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore, Russia, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, Greece, Cyprus, Saudi Arabia, Oman, Jordan, Syria, Palestine, Egypt, Kuwait…and so many more that I can’t even think of. That list gives you a rough idea of the places I’ve been to or lived in. 

I got to experience all the cultures, lifestyles and languages and more importantly, I got to meet these amazing people with their amazing stories. One thing my roommate (from Chicago) says she likes about Europe is that it’s so small. You can take the Eurostar from Waterloo in London to Gare du Nord in Paris in roughly two hours. You can drive across the French border and be in Germany. 

Image

 

This where the border of Belgium meets the Netherlands. DO YOU SEE HOW CRAZY THIS IS? 

Once, my Dutch friend and I were getting ready to leave a university exhibition centre, when we ran into two Canadian college reps. Bryan was from Brock, and I can’t remember the woman’s name anymore. We got talking and we ended up having dinner with two strangers who we had met merely an hour before. It was exhilarating! 

So really, it’s not a big deal that I don’t have a childhood best friend. I’m still in touch with friends from the third grade onwards, and that’s more than I could ask for. Technology today has allowed us to rekindle old friendships and maintain the ones worth maintaining. 

If I was told that I could have those childhood friends and live in the same house all my life and make wonderful memories, I’d say no. Because I don’t think I would ever give up any of the experiences I had. The good and the bad, both. They made me who I am today and if giving up all those experiences mean that I remain naïve and ignorant to the world, then I wouldn’t give it up for anything. 

Image

This should give you a good idea. A map showing where most of my friends come from. 

4 thoughts on “Around the world in 20 years

  1. So much to relate to. SOO MUCH! The longest I’ve EVER lived in one place is this, Pakistan. LOL Of ALL places. I never went around the world, but we kept relocating within the states and changing schools. It’s no fun. I have always wished for friends to “go back to” but even though there are friends I *can* go back to, it isn’t really like that.

    • It’s never like that. One thing my roommate and I seem to experience is that we both forget that when we go home, life wasn’t on pause. People moved on, grew up and went away. And that’s kinda hard to deal with when you’re subjected to so much change already. That being said, recently I spoke a friend of mine in Ireland whom I haven’t in around ten years. And she’s still living in that same house in that same cul-de-sac that I left her in all those years before. It’s crazy to think that I could have had a life like hers, but I’m really, REALLY glad that we moved around as much as we did. Because like I said, I wouldn’t be who I am today without it!

Leave a Reply

